Caribbean Series: The Final

Once again, Valle leads Mexico to the mountaintop.


Twins:  Eddie Rosario (Puerto Rico) was 1-for-4 with a double.  Kennys Vargas (Puerto Rico) was 1-for-3.  Daniel Ortiz (Puerto Rico) was 0-for-3.

Puerto Rico:  Randy Ruiz was 1-for-3 with a double and an RBI.  Joel Piniero pitched five shutout innings, giving up three hits and one walk with three strikeouts.

Mexico:  Sebastian Valle (Philadelphia) was 2-for-4 with a grand slam, his second homer.  Daryle Ward was 2-for-4 with two runs and an RBI.  Juan Delgadillo pitched seven shutout innings, allowing four hits and no walks with five strikeouts.

The game:  It was scoreless until the sixth, when a big inning carried Mexico to victory.  Chris Roberson started the inning with a home run.  The next batter struck out, but then Jon Weber singled, Zelous Wheeler (Yankees) walked, and Ward singled in a run to make it 2-0.  With two out, Luis Fonseca singled to load the bases and Valle hit a grand slam to make the score 6-0 and put Mexico in control of the game.  Mexico added a run in the eighth on a Gil Velazquez RBI single.  The lone Puerto Rico run scored in the ninth on a sacrifice fly.


The win gives Mexico the Caribbean Series championship.  This is the second consecutive year and the third year in four that the team from Mexico has claimed the championship.