Game 44: Old Gardys versus New Gardys

Game two in the showdown series between the Twins and Tigers as both teams battle for second place in the AL Central. Twins took game 1 and look to solidify their second place standing. Lance Lynn on the mound for the Twins and the less said about him the better. Matthew Boyd on for the Tigers and he's been decent with a 1.06 WHIP, winning record, etc.

Twins only have a 7 man bullpen so let's hope the batters can give Lynn a nice cushion so that he can turn it over to the bullpen by the 5th inning and win this game in memory of Phil Hughes.

Game time 7:10p at Target Field.

32 thoughts on “Game 44: Old Gardys versus New Gardys”

  1. I'm bummed that Morrison has already stopped using "Wild Thing" as his walkup music, but I suppose I can't blame him since he hit about .025 using it.

    1. He's out of the booth now. The parts that I heard weren't terrible. They ended with pitching talk. Heard it all from Bert before but still new from Morris.

  2. I wonder if Dozier is going to get mad that Boyd spiked the ball after tagging out Adrianza or if that isn't as bad as bunting against the shift.

    1. Having spent some Googling, it would be interference. Obstruction is when a fielder blocks a runner.

      Some rules references:

      6.01(a)(6) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter-runner because of the action of his teammate.

      Rule 6.01(d)
      Unintentional Interference
      In case of unintentional interference with play by any person herein authorized to be on the playing field (except members of the team at bat who are participating in the game, or a base coach, any of whom interfere with a fielder attempting to field a batted or thrown ball; or an umpire) the ball is alive and in play. If the interference is intentional, the ball shall be dead at the moment of the interference and the umpire shall impose such penalties as in his opinion will nullify the act of interference.

      This is my vote for what happened.

      1. There's also this comment for 6.01(a):

        Rule 6.01(a ) Penalty for Interference Comment:
        A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.

        Dozier wasn't really hindered because the batter was out. However, I wonder if Iglesias was rule safe on replay then the Twins could argue Dozier would have made the play if Jones wasn't there and therefore Jones should be out.

  3. Dick trolling Bert on the electronic strike caller.

    Bert: It's been that way for 180 years, why change it now?
    Dick: We used to travel in covered wagons too, but now we have a better way to do things.

Leave a Reply